Posted on

Have you recently become an Empty Nester ? Help is at hand……


Join our Empty Nesters Club in Sheffield , with some TLC to help you recover from this unsettling time . We have organised some free TLC tasters to pamper you, brush up your confidence …and re-launch yourself into your new kid free zone , without feeling guilty.

https://www.facebook.com/note.php?note_id=10150330419672590

My son is now 18 and this year he finished his A levels . Luckily for me he decided to run his computer business from my sofa, and have a gap year before leaving home. So I am not facing the empty nest  feeling yet . I joked about this with my friends whose kids were ‘really ‘ leaving for Uni this September and  soon stopped joking and listened to what they had to say. There was a real mixture of sadness at the end or an era, trepidation for their kids going out into the world with a bump from their cosy 6th form existence! Kids these days have a much more ‘friends’ relationship with their parent/s so compared to when i went to Uni ,and I could not wait to leave ,and my parent just saw it as a stage of life , nowadays there seems to be more of a wrench ! That is until they arrive back for weekends with their washing and to raid the fridge! So mixed emotions …guilt at feeling glad and liberated that they have gone …a new phase of life both for couples and single parents ! Some couples fearing being left alone to face reality , others planning as one of my friends said ‘ I know exactly which mountain I am going to go climbing on with my partner when our last teenager leaves home !’ Lucky her !

I spoke to a friend who said she had spent the first few weeks after her last child had gone to college, arriving back from work and bursting into tears in the kitchen. She really missed her ,and I could see it still upset her. Though she was very proud too.

That is the only time being a single parent actually helps you…as you are used to the kids spending time away from you on a regular basis ,so its a bit like that .

Some people plan ahead , for this new phase , others don’t realise until it hits them. I realised my teens were using me more as a chef ,cashpoint and taxi driver, so that was why I started  my coaching business ,which I could fit around school, part time job and helping them with homework, applications etc. I am lucky as I have had a transition in ,so hopefully will plan some activities ‘just for me ‘ when the last one leaves !

Many people have older relatives and need time to adjust to no-one at home to  avoid transferring their caring role on to them straight from their teenagers !! There are other issues that need help..Financial worries for example…many parents lose their tax credits and child benefit, and have to subsidise their offspring at college or apprenticeship.  So they may need to be creative about making the most of their new freedoms ! Some may feel depressed as relationship difficulties rear their head once the kids have moved on.

Learning how to spoil yourself, and plan things to do so as not to waste that fantastic 10-15 years from when they leave til retirement is an aim of the Empty Nesters  !! I do not want to waste a second ! Thats why we set up the Empty Nest Club …to help people to do just that …

Acknowledge what a fantastic job they did , and take a bit of time to pamper themselves. I am studying compassion theory ,which teaches people to care for themselves properly , especially when they have been ‘carers ‘ for years.

We wanted to pass on our experiences about setting up businesses, having a great work life balance and looking after yourself. i have met so many women through my networking that have set up as their kids got older and left home… i have also met  people who are worried about the job situation at the moment ,and may be looking for a chance to change direction ,now they are empty nesters ..and have much more time to fill !! Having a regular walking/networking /business  building empowering session with others will hopefully help people to make the most of the opportunities being an empty nester brings…without the guilt !

We also want to make it inclusive and affordable, mixing free treats with pampering and  guidance  from experts

We wanted to help people reach their potential after having a pampering session ‘just for them ‘ to have a bit of TLC and come to terms with their kids leaving home .

( NB its open to all !!)

Leave a Reply

