Posted on

FABCOACH KAREN PERKINS INTERVIEWS LUCY ROCCA OF SOBERISTAS


Fabcoach, Karen Perkins Life and Career Coach from Sheffield interviews on of her favourite businesses every week on her Blog    www.fabcoach.wordpress.com

Name;  Lucy Rocca  runs  Soberistas.com, works at www.soberistas.com/@soberistas as Website Editor
??????????

1 Describe your job in 140 characters!

I select (and occasionally write) and edit the material to publish on Soberistas.com, a social network site for worried binge drinkers. I manage the day-to-day running of the site, dealing with enquiries from our community. With 22,600 members, this entails a lot of work! I In addition, I take care of all the media interest in Soberistas, so often do TV, radio and newspaper interviews. I also write books on the subject of women and alcohol, and have an Amazon bestseller, The Sober Revolution, plus Your 6 Week Plan and Glass Half Full in print, all published by Accent Press.

2 What did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be a writer – I had my first book published at the age of 37, so I got there eventually!

3 What are you most proud of in your Career?

Establishing Soberistas.com – our community has helped thousands of women stop drinking and lead happier, healthier lives.

4 Which famous person inspired you at work and why?

I’m a massive Red Hot Chili Peppers fan, and when I first stopped drinking I needed a cool and sober role model to help me get over my initial fears that teetotal people were dull – Anthony Kiedis, lead singer of RHCP, inspired me in that way.

5 What & where is your favourite Networking event ?

NA

6 Where would you take a client for a ‘thank you ‘coffee or lunch in Sheffield ?

Nonna’s, Ecclesall Road – great food, brilliant service, and the best tiramisu I’ve ever had!

Venue, location, food recommendation?

7 What is your tip for beating stress at work?

Get into meditation – it works wonders.

8 What is your favourite way to relax?

Playing loud music whilst driving in the Peak District, spending time with my family, lounging around in the spa/steam room at the gym, meditating, reading books, and running.

9 What advice would you give to a young person setting out on their career path?

Find a career that you love – that way it will never feel like work!

10 How can people contact me?

lucy@soberistas.com

@soberistas on Twitter

 My books are as follows;

The Sober Revolution: Calling Time on Wine O’clock

Your 6 Week Plan

Glass Half Full

(all published by Accent Press and available now on Amazon, iTunes and in Waterstones and WH Smith)

3254_SOB Logo CMYK

Thanks Lucy !!

Leave a Reply

